Help with building a Python3 virtual environment

Greetings,

I am still new to using ROS. I have a similar problem regarding this topic.

I am attempting to build a Python3 virtual environment to run a package that is coded in Python3, in my laptop’s ROS Melodic.

The package in question is located in this link: GitHub - osrf/autodock: ROS packages for automatic docking

My procedure is as below:

1. I ran the command sudo apt-get install python-catkin-tools python3-dev python3-numpy.

2. I ran the command sudo pip install virtualenv. However, my error message said that there was no pip. So, I ran the command sudo apt install python-pip, and then I ran the previous command.

3. I continued to follow the instructions in the notebook until the activation of the python3_ws.

4. I skipped the steps regarding installing dependencies until I ran the command “catkin_make -DPYTHON_EXECUTABLE:FILEPATH=/home/user/python3_ws/py3venv/bin/python”. However, it resulted in the following error:

CMake Error at /usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:137 (message):
Could NOT find PythonInterp: Found unsuitable version “1.4”, but required
is at least “2” (found /home/user/python3_ws/py3venv/bin/python)
Call Stack (most recent call first):
/usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPackageHandleStandardArgs.cmake:376 (_FPHSA_FAILURE_MESSAGE)
/usr/share/cmake-3.10/Modules/FindPythonInterp.cmake:152 (FIND_PACKAGE_HANDLE_STANDARD_ARGS)
/opt/ros/melodic/share/catkin/cmake/python.cmake:4 (find_package)
/opt/ros/melodic/share/catkin/cmake/all.cmake:164 (include)
/opt/ros/melodic/share/catkin/cmake/catkinConfig.cmake:20 (include)
CMakeLists.txt:58 (find_package)

– Configuring incomplete, errors occurred!
See also “/home/dan501mk2/python3_ws/build/CMakeFiles/CMakeOutput.log”.
Invoking “cmake” failed