How can I use Gazebo with ROS?

Hello,

I’m a beginner at ROS and Gazebo, so I don’t know how to combine the two of them. Initially, I created a launch file that runs two py files of a mobile differential drive robot. How do I import these files into the gazebo? Where can I find the files that the mobile robot will show because I do not have them? Τhat is the chassis’s dimensions, wheels’ dimensions, and more.

I really appreciate any help you can provide.

Hi @vasileios.tzimas

As a beginner, this site teaches you how to work with ROS, and we use the Gazebo simulator. If you tell us what you want to do exactly (in high level), we can point you to the right course or resource.

Hi @bayodesegun,

I have created on my rosject a package (catkin_ws/src/mobile_robot_diff_drive).

I want to simulate on Gazebo and view how it behaves in the real world.
I recently bought a laptop with Ubuntu and installed ROS and Gazebo and want to do all of this on the computer.
So, I don’t know how to integrate my py files into Gazebo. How to do that?
Was it understood?

I see now. Please try the following resources:

1. Gazebo : Tutorials (gazebosim.org)
  2. Download free Gazebo simulations (which are used in the courses) on our public simulations repository, after understanding how to add simulations to Gazebo.

In the coming days, we might have a full course on Gazebo.

1 Like

From free Gazebo simulations, I want these which has only py files. What are these;

Could you notice me when this full course will be available?

I found this repo about Gazebo and ROS.

I have created my two py files and a launch file and made two files with this tutorial.

What else will I need to run my files and view them in the Gazebo?

What exactly are these files?

What exactly is the world folder and what does it contain?