Do rostest test nodes publish to rosout?

Hello all,

I posted this question to ROS answers page but did not get any help: https://answers.ros.org/question/350204/do-rostest-test-nodes-publish-to-rosout/

Reposting here to see if I can get any help. Feel free to continue the discussion over there or start a new one here.

Some background. I am new to writing unit tests in gtests/rostest. So a lot of this might be just me unable to find that awesome link which will clear everything up. The course on Robot Ignite Academy focuses on python unittests and not gtest CPP. There is one Construct video on Youtube for CPP/gtests but that does not solve my problem, Anyway, here it goes:

My node under test: This node is only subscribing to /rosout_agg . Think of this as some sort of diagnostics node.

My test scenario: I want to publish several series of messages to /rosout from my test cases and see how my diagnostics node responds to this. So I was thinking I will just use the log statements such as ROS_INFO , ROS_WARN and ROS_ERROR to publish my test case messages onto /rosout . I am not directly publishing to this topic. Rather just using the log statements.

My rostest file looks like follows:

<?xml version="1.0"?>
<launch>
    <node pkg="diagnostics" type="diagnostics" name="diagnostics_node"  output="screen"/>
    <test test-name="diagnostics_test_node" pkg="diagnostics" type="diagnostics_test_node"/>
</launch>
  • When I run this file using rostest , my diagnostics node is not picking up any messages from /rosout_agg . The subscriber callback in my node under test never gets called.
  • Note that, when I run my diagnostics_test_node as just a gtest and my diagnostics node separately, everything is working as expected.