Chmod cannot find filename: no such file or directory

Hi, I am a beginner at ROS and was trying to do the exercise 2.1 of “ROS Learning Week - Day 4” rosject.
When I do the roslaunch command, the following error comes up:
ERROR: cannot launch node of type [exercise_2_1/simple_topic_publisher_exercise2_1.py]: can’t locate node [simple_topic_publisher_exercise2_1.py] in package [exercise_2_1]

When I try to give execute permission by doing chmod +x simple_topic_publisher_exercise2_1.py, the following error comes up:
chmod: cannot access ‘simple_topic_publisher_exercise2_1.py’: No such file or directory

The only thing I did differently from the notebook was, instead of editing in the simple_topic_publisher.py file from an older example in the same rosject, I made a separate package(exercise_2_1) with separate launch file(simple_topic_publisher_exercise2_1.launch) and python file(simple_topic_publisher_exercise2_1.py).

All the locations and names are correct as per my limited knowledge. I even tried running roscore in a separate shell and then tried doing roslaunch and chmod again, but same errors came up. Please help me figure out where I am going wrong.

I have attached a picture containing the locations of files & the launch file code.
This is the python code:
#! /usr/bin/env python

import rospy

from geometry_msgs.msg import Twist

rospy.init_node(‘twisting’)

pub2 = rospy.Publisher(’/cmd_vel’, Twist, queue_size=1)

rate = rospy.Rate(2)

var = Twist()

Twist.linear.x = 0.3

Twist.angular.z = 0.3

while not rospy.is_shutdown():

pub2.publish(var)

rate.sleep()

Hi @tsturbo ,

1. Make sure you have compiled using catkin_make, and later source using source devel/setup.bash, while being in the catkin_ws directory.

2. run rospack profile. Since you have created a new package, the system maynot yet recognize it and rospack profile will update the list.

Hi @Joseph1001 , thanks for the reply. I tried your solutions, but the same errors are popping up still.