Change the robot in a simulation

Hi everyone,
I’m new in this world and I’m a beginner in ROS. I discovered ROS a couple of months ago for a school project. Now i know a little bit more but it still very poor and I hope that someone could help me.

I have the following problem.
I can use the TurtleBot simulation and the swar_robot_ros_sim (https://github.com/yangliu28/swarm_robot_ros_sim.git). In this latest, In the aggregation simulation, they use a two wheel Robot but I would like to change it in a TurtleBot Robot (Burger). I know that’s not easy, but can I do this change without changing all the code files? My idea was to create a new package with the robot and the simulation only.

best regards

Hi,

By changing the robot, what do you mean exactly?

1. If its only the meshes, is just a meter of chnging them in the XACRO or URDF file visual tags.
  2. If you want to change it completely, its just spawning the turtlebot3 instead of the other one.

I would recommend you to create a rosject and share it here so that we can test and help you better.

@duckfrost thank you for your response. Since my topic I changed the URDF file to have the burger robot. I had to change the old file and keep the same link names and it works. However the robots (burger) cannot move. With the old robots the had a swarm behaviour but now it doesn’t work anymore.

when i launch the node "rosrun swarm_robot_simulation two_wheel_robot_aggregation _sensing_range:=1.5 “I have the following errors “the robot model not found when set left wheel vel” (and the same with the right wheel”. I searched in the cpp file which part generates the error and i found it but I don’t know to much in c++.
Also I have en error with the connection with gazebo server when I launch gazebo (without moving the robots).

this is the part in the cpp file

erreur

Hi,